Professor Dr R K Shyamasundar appointed to the Fellowship of the BBA

Professor Dr R K Shyamasundar appointed to the Fellowship of the BBA

Professor Dr R K Shyamasundar has been awarded the Fellowship of the British Blockchain Association.

Prof Shyamasundar is a Distinguished Senior Professor of Computer Science at the Blockchain Centre of Excellence in the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Bombay. He directs the Information Security Research and Development Centre from Department of Electronics and Information Technology (DeITY) for the Government of India. He is leading the Blockchain and Cryptocurrency Research and Education Programme at the IIT. Prof Shyamasundar has made outstanding contributions to Real-Time Distributed Computing, Logics of Programs and Cybersecurity, with more than 300 publications, 8 books, 8 international patents, 3 Indian patents, and 3 Best Paper Awards. He is also a Senior Professor at TATA Institute of Fundamental Research.

Prof Shyamasundar’s Honours and Accolades:

Founding President, Indian Association of Research in Computing Science (IARCS)

Founding Dean, School of Technology and Computer Science, India

JC Bose National Fellow, India

SN Mitra award for Excellence in Research, Indian National Academy of Engineering

Founding Chair, Conference series Foundations of Software Technology and Theoretical Computer Science (FSTTCS)

Former Distinguished Visiting Fellow, Royal Academy of Engineering, Computing Laboratory of University of Cambridge

Faculty/Staff at IBM Research, India

Visiting researcher at State University of Utrecht, Pennsylvania State University, University of Illinois, University of California at San Diego at Lajolla, University of Linkoping, SUNU at Albany, UNM at Albuquerque, IRISA, INRIA, CWI, JAIST Japan and Max Planck Institute

Serves/served on the Governing Council of IIIT Allahabad, IIIT Jabalpur, CSIR Centre CMMACS (CSIR-FPI) Bangalore

Technical Advisory Board Member, Bombay Stock Exchange (BSE)

Research Advisory Board Member, Institute of Development and Research in Banking Technology (IDRBT) of RBI at Hyderabad, India

Fellow, Indian National Science Academy, National Academy of Engineering, India

Fellow, Computer Society of India (CSI)

Founding Editor-in-Chief, the CSI Journal of Computing

On confirming the award of Fellowship, Dr Mureed Hussain, Secretary of The British Blockchain Association, said:

“We received 129 nominations, of which 37 were self-nominations. To be eligible for the award of Fellowship, the candidate must have fulfilled at least 8 out of the 11 essential eligibility criteria. FBBA is a recognition of exceptional achievement, excellence, leadership, advancing standards and best practice in the field of Distributed Ledger Technologies and Cryptocurrencies. BBA Fellows are an asset, not just to the BBA, but to the rest of the world.”

The BBA was established in 2017 and now has Fellows based in the USA, Australia, India, Singapore, France, UK, Italy and The Netherlands.

To view our list of existing Fellows, visit

– end –